10 Traits of a Positive Thinker: #3 BELIEF

Ali

Piggy-backing off of Scott Ventrella’s work, The Power of Positive Thinking in Business — who piggy-backed off of Dr. Norman Vincent Peale’s work — is an expansion on what I refer to as the 10 traits of positive-minded leaders.  Ventrella states that “Positive thinkers are tough-minded reality-based people who blast through problems with energy and zeal.”  Cynics and skeptics do not change the world; leaders do.

The following are the 10 traits of a positive thinker: 1. Optimism, 2. Enthusiasm, 3. Belief, 4. Integrity, 5. Courage, 6. Confidence, 7. Determination, 8. Patience, 9. Calmness, 10. Focus.

This blog addresses Belief and Leadership.  If you can answer “yes” to the following questions, you may be a leader who exhibits a strong sense of belief…

  • Do I know that I have the power to change my outlook?
  • Do I practice affirming myself?
  • Am I comfortable knowing that I can improve upon my best efforts?
  • Am I committed to living my life to high standards and a higher purpose?
  • Do I see individual events as part of a greater plan?  Or, am I at least comfortable knowing that negative consequences can ultimately yield positive results?

Belief comes from conviction that certain things are trueIt is paramount that leaders have a strong sense of Belief in self; when self-doubt creeps in, we lose sight of our individual identity and uniqueness.  How can you lead effectively, if you do not know who you are?  Leaders also steer away from any self-limiting beliefs, as they do more harm than good.

SELF-LIMITING BELIEFS (all lies we tell ourselves)

  1. People must treat me fairly. The bottom line is that the world and the people in it are often unfair.  We cannot avoid unfairness.
  2. I should have little discomfort in life.  The truth is: no one will leave this world without discomfort at some point.
  3. People must find me likable.  Concentrate on liking others versus being liked by others.
  4. It’s awful when I make a mistake.  Thomas Edison said, “Many of life’s failures are experienced by people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.”
  5. I must perform well or I’m no good.  While perfectionists do tend to get promoted, they usually are the least satisfied in work and life because they usually convince themselves that having done their best is never good enough.  They “rig the game” against themselves for assured dissatisfaction.  Life without satisfaction and gratitude is a hard road to travel.  Practice gratitude daily.
  6. People who treat me badly deserve to be punished.  As tempting as revenge may be and as justified as you may feel, stay away from vindictiveness – it only creates more negative energy, which is a poison you wish to administer to the other while unconsciously engaging in self-administration.
  7. I must get what I want, when I want it.  Choice is a gift, Patience is a virtue, and Restraint is what separates us from the rest of the Animal Kingdom.
  8. I cannot control how I feel.  Quite often this type of victim-speech is spoken by people who are helped by enablers (the psychological term for people who feed into or support ineffective habits).  Enablers say, “Oh, don’t mind James, that’s just the way he is.  Don’t take it personally.”

Believe in yourself.  Do not BeLIEve in a LIE.  How would that help you?

Thank you.

Rossina Gil, MSOD, MAIS, is a Leadership and Organization Development Practitioner, author, cultural analyst, coach, speaker, and facilitator.  CorporateLookingGlass.com. 

Sources:

Scott Ventrella, The Power of Positive Thinking in Business (New York, NY: Fireside), 2001. (pp. 37-38, 40, 44, 85).

thomasedison.com/quotes.html

©Rossina Gil, 2013

About Rossina

Thought Partner & Corporate Primatologist

Posted on June 16, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Adam Cash, PsyD: “Believing in one’s abilities and valuing one’s uniqueness is not to be underestimated. Too often, we lead inauthentic lives that are defined by others as we strive for their acceptance.”

  2. Ralph Waldo Emerson: To believe your own thoughts, to believe that what is true for you in your private heart is true for all men–that is genius.

  1. Pingback: Traits of a Positive Thinker | MEDIAsoft

  2. Pingback: How a Belief outperforms a Plan every-time | Creative Collisions MTL

Leave a Reply

